In Microsoft SharePoint, I created a Document Library. The users started uploading files to the library, but nobody but the uploading user can see the files. All of the users have security set to see all of the files.  What could have happened?

It is possible that you have it set such that the users must check in and check out their files.

First turn off that setting by doing the following:

  • In the Document Library, under Library Tools, select Library, then Select Library Settings
  • Click on Versioning Settings
  • Click on No for Require Check Out
  • Click OK

If the users have uploaded multiple files, they can now go and check them in. If you would like to do this for the users, do the following:

  • In the Document Library, under Library Tools, select Library, then Select Library Settings
  • Select Manage files which have no checked in version
  • You will be able to see all of the files
  • Check the box in front of each file and select Take Ownership of Selection

You will now be able to check in all of the files.

Share This